The Gamers’ Guide to Words of Power

Sean & Barry discuss the new alternate magic system, Words of Power, from Ultimate Magic.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Gamers’ Guide to Words of Power

  1. Roy says:

    You guys rock! I’ve been looking for a podcast like this for a long time now. Keep up the good work!

    …Although I still like playing the sorcerer.

  2. Ben. says:

    Ars Magica, guys. Ars. Magica.

    Words of Power is Ars Magica’s second cousin who “tries hard, bless their heart.”

    If you guys want this kind of functionality done right, you want Ars Magica. (First edition edited by Lisa Stevens, even.)

  3. BuzzardB says:

    Hey I got a question for you WoP pros

    Selected Servitor I Boost.

    Level 1 spell that I can Meta Boost for free at level one, once.
    Am I correct in assuming I can Summon up to 5 Eagles with one spell at level one?

    • FenrirKnight says:

      I’m not an expert but Servitor I says if the target word is boosted you summon 1d4+1. And the selected target word says when it is boosted it increases the level of all the effect words in the spell by 3 levels. so servitor is now +3 for a total of 1 base +3 from boosted target word= a lvl 4 spell

  4. Fan'Fer says:

    I have to agree with you on the Wizard front. Im working through a campaign right now as a WoP Wizard and im finding the spell strength disappointing BUT even though i have to prepare my spells i still love the versatility of the spells. currently only on level 4 and already ive had to focus more on my spell list then normal. its a tad frustrating but im enjoying the new system and it does have the feel that it it better suited for spontaneous casters

Leave a Reply

